top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnne Da'Neer

A Court of Thorns and Roses Book Review

Spoiler Review!!!

A Court of Thorns and Roses

By: Sarah J Maas

★★★★★

Feyre is a huntress. And when she sees a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she kills the predator and takes its prey to feed herself and her family. But the wolf was not what it seemed, and Feyre cannot predict the high price she will have to pay for its death ...

Dragged away from her family for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding even more than his piercing green eyes suggest. As Feyre's feelings for Tamlin turn from hostility to passion, she learns that the faerie lands are a far more dangerous place than she realized. And Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.


 

It's been a while since I've read a book that just completely and totally captures me and makes me stay up until 4am in the morning to read it. Everything about this book was amazing and my thoughts are all over the place right now but I'll attempt to piece together a coherent review.


First of all, I was so scared to read this because it's literally the queen bee of booktok. It's so hyped up that I was quite frankly, terrified to read it. I was expecting it to be a bit disappointing, but oh my god. I loved it and I was certainly not disappointed. I loved the world. Prythian and it's seasonal courts and system of High Lords and High Fae are so cool to read about!


I also didn't realise it was a Beauty and the Beast retelling for so long. When the curse/amarantha part was revealed I was like whaaaaaaaat. I thought it was a total plot twist but then I was like đŸ€Šâ€â™€ïžit's a Beauty and the beast retelling, of course there's a curse dummie.


Okay now to characters. I love Feyre, she's so brave. Although, when she couldn't solve the simple riddle with the obvious answer I was a bit annoyed. It was obviously love, to embarrass Feyre because the riddle was supposed to PROVE her love for Tamlin. 🙄 But other than that, I love her. She's a great mc and I really admired how she kept her family afloat and I hate Nesta with a burning fire. Seriously? your sister keeps you alive and you get scold and insult her for not being clean? LIKE BRUH SHE JUST WENT OUT TO THE WOODS TO HUNT FOR YOU SO YOU HAVE FOOD TO KEEP YOUR CRUEL LITTLE SELF ALIVE.


Ok now for Tamlin. I know Feyre and Rhysand are going to end up together because I've seen the fanart and booktok seems to collectively hate on Tamlin. I don't know why, since he seemed fine to me. But, if it's a choice between Tamlin and Rhysand, I'll go with Rhys. 1) because he's much hotter and I have a weakness for darkhaired, arrogant fictional men 😊 and 2) he calls Feyre "love" and "Feyre darling" and 3) he was fighting for her while Amarantha was torturing her while Tamlin did nothing.


Btw I also love Lucien. đŸ„°


I was actually super invested in the plot. Booktok kept marketing this as a sweeping romance. But I think it's a sweeping fantasy AND a sweeping romance. Much more plot than I expected after all I heard was "spice spice spice".


Can't wait for the next book!! Going to start it ASAP 😍😍😍

148 views2 comments

Related Posts

© 2023 by The Basic Bookworm.

000SignOff000.png
bottom of page