top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnne Da'Neer

Heartless Book Review

Spoiler-Free Review!!!

Heartless

By Marissa Meyer


(I would give it infinity stars if I could)


This fantastical retelling by Marissa Meyer follows the backstory of the infamous Queen of Hearts.


A girl who has a talent for cooking magical confections that can alter a person's emotions catches the eye of the King of Hearts, who wants her for his bride. She will do anything to avoid this fate, particularly as she finds herself falling in love with the mysterious new court jester...

 

First Read

The first time I read Heartless, I shed a couple tears. I knew right away it a preciousnew favourite. Here is my original reviw when I read it in Feb 2021:


First of all, this book deserves hundred - no - MILLIONS of stars! But unfortunately, I had to give it 5 because that's the limit. *frustrated sigh*


5 things you need to know:


1) The book a retelling of the Queen of Hearts.

2) Marissa Meyer - queen of retellings and my new favourite author - wrote it.

3) This book will rip your heart out, cut it into pieces, stomp all over it, and leave you literally empty and heartless inside.

4) I love Jest.

5) THIS IS MY NEW FAVOURITE BOOK.


Re-read

The second time I read Heartless, I didn't cry but my eyes were watery and I just felt heartbroken and numb. The magic of this book had not faded at all, it's still an all-time fave for me. The first time I read heartless, it was a friend's copy so this time I was reading my own copy that I had acquired since then. I also heavily annotated this copy. Here is my review...


I thought that by rereading Heartless, I would be capable of writing a proper review, but no. I just love this book so much and I love Jest and Cath and all the characters and the world and the plot and THE TRAGIC TRAGEDY THAT LITERALLY BROKE ME. It's just sooo good and everyone has to read this. It deserves literally infinity stars and is one of my absolute favourites if not my number one. Cath's character development into the queen of hearts was so cleverly done. It was gradual but not too slow and it was perfectly realistic, which I loved! Jest is one of my favourite book boyfriends ever. I was smitten ever since he made his appearance on the hoop.


21 views2 comments

Related Posts

© 2023 by The Basic Bookworm.

000SignOff000.png
bottom of page