top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnne Da'Neer

Serpent and Dove + Blood and Honey Review

SPOILER REVIEW! Proceed with caution!

Serpent and Dove

By: Shelby Mahurin



Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned.


As a huntsman of the Church, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle: Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. But when Lou pulls a wicked stunt, the two are forced into an impossible situation—marriage.


Lou, unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, must make a choice. And love makes fools of us all.


 

I read Serpent and Dove within 24 hours. I stayed up until 4 am last night reading. It was so good! I can't believe this is a debut novel because this reads like an experienced fantasy author. There is a perfect balance of plot and romance.


For world building, at the start I was so confused but it's fantasy so that was to be expected, but by the time Lou and Reid got married, I had come to grips with the world. The world is inspired by Old France with a lot of religious undertones and their are witches that the church (which is in power) burns them at the stake.


I loved the characters. Lou was so bad-ass and amazing. Reid.... omg... 😍😍. New BBF. He's very different from most bbf's. He's more sensitive and gentle but still kinda possessive 🥰 I loved how Lou and Reid's romance developed. I loved the spicy rooftop scene in this book, it was sooo amazing. I love that Reid was inexperienced and Lou was experienced because it was so hot but also so sweet at the same time. I love explicit YA 😊


Their love is just so beautiful, like it's that stunning once in a lifetime super rare i would die for you love. AND IT'S WITCH X WITCH HUNTER!!! Enemies to lovers at its finest! Chef's kiss 😘

“I-I've never seen anyone savor anything the way you do everything. You make me feel alive. Just being in your presence - it's addictive. You're addictive. It doesn't matter you're a witch. The way you see the world . . . I want to see it that way too. I want to be with you always, Lou. I never want to be parted from you again.”

That quote just broke me down and made me cry. Also, the end of this book broke me but in the best way!! Serpent and Dove is a forever favourite, I love love lovvveee it!!!



 

Blood and Honey

By: Shelby Mahurin



After narrowly escaping death at the hands of the Dames Blanches, Lou, Reid, Coco, and Ansel are on the run from coven, kingdom, and church—fugitives with nowhere to hide.


To elude the scores of witches and throngs of chasseurs at their heels, Lou and Reid need allies. Strong ones. But protection comes at a price, and the group is forced to embark on separate quests to build their forces. As Lou and Reid try to close the widening rift between them, the dastardly Morgane baits them in a lethal game of cat and mouse that threatens to destroy something worth more than any coven.

 

Oh my god.

That ending.

I feel numb and I actually shed a tear.

I am literally broken.


There is sooo much I want to say and I don't know where to start, so I'll just start by saying that this cover is absolutely gorgeous and it's beautiful and it deserves appreciation.


The first 200 pages of Blood and Honey were kind of slow and depressing. It felt a bit exhausting and I didn't feel excitement in picking it up again to read. For that reason, I had to take off a star.


I've seen a lot of people write in their reviews that this is a filler book, I don't really agree. It kind of is in the first half but after that it really adds to the story. Alliances have been formed and there were lots of revelations that pushed the plot ahead.


Now for the good parts!! This book was pretty sad, but I like sad books. Lou's character development is dark but it's so well done, like perfectly on point. Reid's development was also very good. Their relationship hit a bump in the road and I just wanted to bash their heads together and yell "COMMUNICATE YOU STUPID PEASANTS" but like in a good way 😊 Near the end of the book, they really worked through their issues and it was so beautiful. I love them, they're totally OTPs.


I really enjoyed their journey and the last 150 pages kept me on the edge of my seat.


Reid and Lou had a lot of angst in this book and it just hurt my heart to see the rift between them. When Ansel died, I was so sad. Ansel is my sweet little munchkin, he's literally my favourite character!! (after Lou and Reid) When Morgane killed him I literally died inside and I was in denial but RIP sweet little Ansel 😥 I'll miss you 💔💔💔 But anyways, after all that effort it took to get Lou and Reid back together, now she's all dark again and I'm literally so sad. This quote broke me by the way...

“You don’t get to leave me. Do you understand?” Cupping my face, he wrenched me backward and kissed me hard. His voice was fierce. His eyes were fiercer. They burned into mine, angry and anguished and afraid. “You don’t get to do this alone. If you retreat into your mind—into your magic—I’ll follow you, Lou.” He shook me slightly, tears glistening in those frightened eyes. “I’ll follow you into that darkness, and I’ll bring you back. Do you hear me? Where you go, I will go.”




Related Posts

© 2023 by The Basic Bookworm.

000SignOff000.png
bottom of page