top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnne Da'Neer

Siege and Storm Book Review

May contain minor spoilers...

Siege and Storm

By: Leigh Bardugo

GrishaTrilogy #2

4|.|5 stars

Hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Fold, Alina must try to make a life with Mal in an unfamiliar land. She finds starting new is not easy while keeping her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret. She can’t outrun her past or her destiny for long.The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and a dangerous plan that will test the very boundaries of the natural world. With the help of a notorious privateer, Alina returns to the country she abandoned, determined to fight the forces gathering against Ravka. But as her power grows, Alina slips deeper into the Darkling’s game of forbidden magic, and farther away from Mal. Somehow, she will have to choose between her country, her power, and the love she always thought would guide her--or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm.

 

I'm sooooo surprised by how much I'm enjoying this series!! I've seen so many people say it's slow or just okay or good-ish, not one of LB's best works, but I'm LOVING it!!! It's sooo fun and I love that literally all the characters are morally grey. I love Alina, but I have to say I'm a bit jealous of her. THREE PROPOSALS. THREE. AND THAT'S NOT EVEN COUNTING MAL, WHO'S ALSO IN LOVE WITH HER.


This book was so good!! It took be around 50 pages to get into it, but after that omgggg I was dying. I love love loveeee the Darkling. I love love loveeee Alina. I don't know about Mal... BUT OMGGG WHAT EVEN IS NIKOLAI HE IS LIKE MY NEW FAVOURITE CHARACTER EVER I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE HIM!!!!!!!😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍 I love him so much, a sacrcastic, slightly arrogant and amazingly awesome prince privateer with insanely good looks and KNOWS IT?!?! SIGN ME UP.


I actually really liked the ending and the whole Darkling kiss.... EEEEEEEEEEEEEEK!! even though it was to kill him and all...


I get that Alina loves Mal and all, but I don't know, I'm just not feeling them. Like, GIRL, you have the darkling and fricking PRINCE NIKOLAI after you, what are you doing with Mal?? I'm kind of annoyed at Mal actually, they still haven't properly talked it out, it's getting ugh.


SURPRISINGLY, I ended up loving this book MORE than Shadow & Bone. Like, this is a new favourite series. Seriously. Also, I JUST realised what the covers mean. lol. Anyways, I definitely understand the hype. Leigh Bardugo is an extremely talented writer and I can't wait to keep reading the Grishaverse!!

Related Posts

© 2023 by The Basic Bookworm.

000SignOff000.png
bottom of page