top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnne Da'Neer

The Hawthorne Legacy Book Review

Updated: Jan 27, 2022

**This review contains SPOILERS**

The Hawthorne Legacy

By: Jennifer Lynn Barnes

The Inheritance Games #2

★★★★★

The Inheritance Games ended with a bombshell, and now heiress Avery Grambs has to pick up the pieces and find the man who might hold the answers to all of her questions - including why Tobias Hawthorne left his entire fortune to Avery, a virtual stranger, rather than to his own daughters or grandsons.


Thanks to a DNA test, Avery knows that she's not a Hawthorne by blood, but clues pile up hinting at a deeper connection to the family than she had ever imagined. As the mystery grows and the plot thickens, Grayson and Jameson, the enigmatic and magnetic Hawthorne grandsons, continue to pull Avery in different directions. And there are threats lurking around every corner, as adversaries emerge who will stop at nothing to see Avery out of the picture - by any means necessary.

 

I pre-ordered a copy of The Hawthorne Legacy from Amazon, I was that excited!! I read it with my bestie for a 12-hour readathon and I absolutely devoured it. 😍 It was pretty damn close to perfect.


The plot continued to be twisty and turny like its predecessor, it honestly shocked me at some places. The pacing was pretty fast in this instalment too. The mystery progresses a bit but it was more to set us up for (what I hope will be) the unforgettable finale of book 3: The Final Gambit. I was so excited that Toby was Avery's father and then this stupid Eve girl is randomly put into it?! I did not like that at all. I wanted Avery to be Toby's daughter sooo bad. I was so disappointed when it turned out she wasn't. However, that 2 daughters comment hit me right in the heart ❤


Now let's talk romance. There was a bit more romance in this one than The Inheritance Games. The dynamic between Avery and the boys became more friendly and less stand-offish. I am still Team Grayson😍😘🔥, even though most of the romance in this book was between her and Jameson. However, I am not completely opposed to Jameson anymore. He's not the total toxic butt he used to be anymore. The hot tub scene was very enjoyable!! But, I have to say, I enjoyed the seggsual tension dialogue and sword-fighting scenes between Grayson and Avery more than the full makeout scenes with Jameson. That's saying something! Grayson and Avery did have one abrupt kiss but it was to stop her from admitting something in an interview soooo... but I'll take what I can get!


Overall, I'm hoping the plot spices up in the next book, as well as the romance. I also am praying that Grayson gets a whole bunch of romance and a bit of character arc to redeem him and that he ultimately ends up with Avery 👑! I am also extremely curious about the mystery!! I hope we get rid of this Eve girl and find out once and for all what was going on in Tobias Hawthorne's kooky little brain.

29 views0 comments

Related Posts

© 2023 by The Basic Bookworm.

000SignOff000.png
bottom of page