top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnne Da'Neer

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue Book Review

Updated: Sep 15, 2021

**Spoiler-Free Review!**

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

By: V.E. Schwab


100000000 stars

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue begins in France, 1714. A young woman makes a bargain. Live forever and be free in exchange for a soul. However, the devil curses her to be forgotten once she is out of someone's sight. She can not leave a mark on the world. The story follows Addie throughout her centuries of life, from continent to continent, across history and art. Doomed to be forgotten, Addie has sadly accepted her fate, when one fine day, Addie meets a boy who remembers her name.


 
THIS BOOK IS STUNNING.
IT'S NOT A BOOK IT'S A MASTERPIECE.
IT'S LITERALLY A WORK OF ART.
I REST MY CASE.

I can not write a review that does this book justice! So I'll keep it short and let you read the book yourself and find out what I mean.


I have never read anything like this. This is my first V.E. Schwab book and if the rest of her books are going to be like this, then I'm going to devour them. I'm going to be honest, my expectations for this book were not too good. I'd heard a lot of people say it was so boring or hard to get into. This was absolutely not the case for me.

A girl is running for her life.

From the first line, I was captivated by the gripping concept and Addie, our complex and beautiful heroine. I did not find this book boring, which is saying something, because I can get bored easily with books. I was so engaged in Addie's world and her story. Henry's story was fascinating as well. I also enjoyed reading about Luc, he was very interesting. Addie is such a marvellous character, she is so multifaceted, it never gets old. She's intelligent, resourceful, stubborn, resilient, creative and strong-willed. She's a dreamer.


The concept of this book is absolutely enrapturing. A girl makes a deal with the devil to live forever and be free in exchange for a soul. But, of course, the deal comes with a catch. The devil curses Addie with being forgotten when she's out of a person's sight. She can not leave a mark on the world.

If a person cannot leave a mark, do they exist?

The writing in this book was just perfect. It was so beautiful. The analogies and the perceptiveness of the writing style were so eye-opening. I loved it. I can tell how much effort has been poured into this book, with each sentence. The writing was so atmospheric and artistic, this is what I mean when I say it's a work of art.

"I remember you." Three words, large enough to tip the world.

This book is so heartbreaking in so many ways. It talks about the grief of loneliness and wanting to feel loved and unrequited love and losing yourself. It describes the pains of not feeling rooted to one place and not having a passion or direction in your life. V.E. Schwab explores so many hidden aspects of life within these pages so successfully. She is an amazing writer, her writing style is so beautiful. Her creative concept was everything I hoped for and more. The characters were perfect. I love Addie so much. For a girl cursed to be forgotten, she's pretty unforgettable! The book ended differently from how I expected it to, but sad as it was, I liked it and it gave a shimmer of hope. On one hand, I wanted more but on the other, I think the author fulfilled her purpose ending it like that. I'm just hoping that she reunited with Henry.

 

Here is some fanart of Addie, Henry and Luc...


Here is some fanart of just Addie and Henry...











(Ok, I'm just going to say it... Luc is kind of... hot.) I'M SORRY I KNOW HE'S THE EVIL DEVIL PERSON BUT LIKE I CAN'T HELP IT!)

Related Posts

© 2023 by The Basic Bookworm.

000SignOff000.png
bottom of page