top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnne Da'Neer

KINGDOM OF THE CURSED!!!

Spoiler-Free Review❤

(kind of minor spoilers, doesn't really matter)

Kingdom of the Cursed

By: Kerri Maniscalco

Kingdom of the Wicked #2

5 stars

After selling her soul to become Queen of the Wicked, Emilia travels to the Seven Circles with the enigmatic Prince of Wrath, where she’s introduced to a seductive world of vice. She vows to do whatever it takes to avenge her beloved sister, Vittoria...even if that means accepting the hand of the Prince of Pride, the king of demons.The first rule in the court of the Wicked? Trust no one. With back-stabbing princes, luxurious palaces, mysterious party invitations, and conflicting clues about who really killed her twin, Emilia finds herself more alone than ever before. Can she even trust Wrath, her one-time ally in the mortal world...or is he keeping dangerous secrets about his true nature? Emilia will be tested in every way as she seeks a series of magical objects that will unlock the clues of her past and the answers she craves...

 

Finally finally finally!!! After months of waiting for the next book in the Kingdom of the Wicked series, I preordered it and it's finally here in my hands! I read it in a day and a half and absolutely devoured it! Okay I have so much to say right now!! I just want to talk to someone about this book for an hour and rant. (ahem Marie and Mysha, hurry up finish reading 😙) Anyways, I love love loveeed this book. I loved it more than Kingdom of the Wicked!!


First of all, I want to talk about Emilia. She was literally so bad-ass in this sequel. Her character development was 11/10. And she was so ferocious but also scheming and she had her own agenda. She was girlbossing and keeping secrets and fighting and killing and shamelessy seducing!!!! I loved when she got over the shame that's been instilled in her from her historical Sicilian society. She learned to accept her desires and sexual urges and used them to her advantage like by seducing Wrath!!! 😍 She had the whole dagger strapped to thigh thing going for her. And her dresses!!!!!! They were so beautiful and hot and the one she wore with the red berry lipstick, I was like omg girl.


Now let's talk about Wrath and Emilia and their hotness!! 🔥 This book is definitely new adult or at least on the highest, explicit side of young adult. Althought there was no actual seggs scene, there was plenty of steaminess ahd hate make-outs. I don't want to spoil anything, but let me tell you a couple hot moments... there a quite few times where they are literally seething with anger and then they do some passionate kissing 🤗 There's also a scene where Wrath feeds Emilia chocolate covered strawberries. Another scene where Wrath is training Emilia and uses his powers to make her strip and and call him master and it was the hottest thing! Best of all, Wrath straps a beautiful dagger to Emilia's thigh. 🥵 Also, he teaches her to waltz and I literally died. I won't say any more!! But that should be enough to convince you to read Kingdom of the Cursed immediately!


Okay so this book was definitely more character-driven than plot-driven. At least for the first two thirds, the plot didn't progress much, but to be honest, I didn't mind. I actually appreaciated it! Yes, mostly because of Wrath and Emilia being all enemies and bantery. By the way the banter in this book was better than chef's kiss 😘. The ending... oh my god you'll NEVER see it coming! I was shOOk! I'm telling you, you can't guess it! That plot twist... was just something else.


Now let's talk about the other princes... Wrath is obviously my number 1, hundred thousand times better than anyone else, but those other princes are looking pretty fine too 😏 Envy is veryyy attractive, especially when he said that thing to Emilia...

“His highness sends his apologies, but he’s left the premises. He said you are welcome to stay as long as you desire, but he will be gone for quite some time.” The servant hesitated, cleared his throat, as if uncomfortable with delivering the rest of the message. “Was there more?” “His highness also said if you wish to make Prince Wrath jealous, you may sleep in his highness’s bed tonight. He suggests doing so in the nude. And… I quote, ‘think filthy thoughts regarding the most well-endowed prince in this realm,’ while tending to yourself. There is a life-sized painting of Prince Envy on the ceiling, should you require a stimulating visual.”

Also, I did not expect Gluttony to be attractive as well! He's a "rake" well-experienced in "debauchery" as Emilia says. And I finally got to meet Pride!! I didn't like the physical description of him in the book though, so I imagine him with really pale (almost grey in a way) skin with jet black hair and slim and tall and slightly muscled.


The only thing I was disappointed and frankly, rather annoyed by in this book was when we finally find out Wrath's name. Like, how did that happen? How did Emilia just like guess it like that in book 1?? And also that is such an ugly name, I'm going to pretend it doesn't exist 🤢🤮 And honestly I was just hurt that Kerri didn't use my idea and have Emilia ask him for his true name and then proceed to have an extremely passionate, steamy scene with Wrath whispering it in her ear mid-seggs. 🤕#hurt


But I couldn't give this book anything less than 5 stars even with the name thing, it was just too good!! Anyone who hasn't read Kingdom of the Wicked and Kingdom of the Cursed is seriously missing out. I don't know how I can wait another year with THAT cliffhanger, I'll be counting down the days😖😓


I hope you enjoyed the review! Byeee!!! ❤


P.S. I'll be updating Wrath's BBF Profile page with quotes from kotc soon!




















Related Posts

© 2023 by The Basic Bookworm.

000SignOff000.png
bottom of page