top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnne Da'Neer

Top 5 Comfort Reads!

Hello readers! 😍 I'm very excited for today's post. Today we're talking comfort reads. You know those books that just make you feel warm and cozy, the ones that you go back to over and over for that feeling? The ones that convince you to keep reading through desert reading slumps and icy book hangovers. Well today I'll be listing my top 5 comfort reads that get me out of a mood. I've read them all at least twice. Hang in and enjoy the post 💕


1. The Shadows Between Us by Tricia Levenseller

I have read the Shadows Between Us three times now and every time it brings back the same magic. This book... where do I even begin, it's AMAZING. A must-read for all! The book screams Slytherin vibes; it's a romance between two morally grey characters. The book follows Alessandra Santhos, a determined and stylish mc that plots to seduce and marry the HOT Shadow King only to MURDER him so that she is queen. But, as things happen, sparks fly and secret agendas are revealed.... This book is awesome. You'll be hooked from the first sentence, trust me. The characters, the fast-paced writing, everything is ON POINT. I just love the dark romance in these pages and Tricia Levenseller's writing never fails to entrance me. There is like extremely mild spice but it is YA, not NA so don't expect too much!


2. Heartless by Marissa Meyer


Yes, another red and black cover 😘 I've read Heartless 2.5 times. 2 full proper reads and one reading over my friend Nunu's shoulder 😒😍 so I'm counting that as a 0.5! This book is GOREGOUS. Of course, anything written by the queen of retellings is amazing but this is on another level. It's a prequel story for the Queen of Hearts. The story follows Catherine who has always wanted to open her own bakery alongside her maid Mary-Anne. But unfortunately for her, she is fated to marry the king (who is a bumbling idiot). Then a very HOT joker named Jest arrives at the castle, and a secret courtship begins. I love the characters in this book and the tragedy never fails to stab my heart no matter how many times I read it. It's one of those books that has your full attention and really makes you forget you're reading.


3. The Score by Elle Kennedy


After 2 YA fantasy books, here's a NA contemporary to add to the mix. This is the third book in Elle Kennedy's Off-Campus series and I love it more than the extremely hyped up first book The Deal. Yes, the deal is still great. But this one is BETTER. The Score follows Allie and Dean (the hottest man to ever grace this planet) he's one of my blonde exceptions. He's rich, hot, cocky and perfect 😍 This book has more than a healthy dose of smut and I looooove it!


4. Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin


Yes, ANOTHER YA fantasy. This one is perfect. It's a YA fantasy romance with a higher end of spice. It's a bad girl x good boy with arranged marriage trope and found family and all that goodness. Basically, Lou is on the run because she's a witch. And Reid is a witch-hunter (known as a Chasseur) They end up in a compromising situation and are forced to marry. Oh my god, the vibes from this book are unreal. I could reread it over and over. It's that good.



5. Divergent by Veronica Roth


Last one for today... it's Divergent 🎉 It's an older one but it's oh so good! There's a classic nostalgia to this book that never goes away. I've lost count of how many times I've read this. I think at least 5 times. I'm sure you've heard this before, but I'll go over it anyway. The world is dystopian and it's divided into 5 factions based on moral values. Abnegation (selflessness), Dauntless (bravery), Candor (honesty), Erudite (intelligence) and Amity (peace). Tris Prior is born to Abnegation but she doesn't feel like she fits in. There's this test to find out which faction you're most suited for and Tris finds out she's DIVERGENT because she doesn't fit into just 1... she fits into THREE. And so the story goes. This book is so good. I enjoyed it more than The Hunger Games, even though people call it a knockoff. I don't care, just read it đŸ„°


 

I hope you enjoyed this post, I loved writing it. Let me know if you're interested in a part 2! I'm super interested to know YOUR comfort reads so comment down below your best ones 😍


That's it for now.

Happy reading!

💗💗💗


37 views0 comments

Related Posts

© 2023 by The Basic Bookworm.

000SignOff000.png
bottom of page