top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnne Da'Neer

The OTP book tag

**WARNING: grishaverse spoilers — proceed at your own risk**

A bestie suggested this tag to me, and it's obviously right up my alley since I'm obsessed with book boys 🥰so I'm doing it today! Great tag for first post post of the week lol. For those who don't know, OTP stand for one true pairing and it basically refers to a fictional ship or couple. I got the prompts from The Little Contemporary Corner. Let's go!



An unpopular OTP that you ship.

Hmmm to be honest, my ships are almost all canon or popular... except for like two. I'm going to go with Darklina, which is a ship with the Darkling and Alina from the Shadow and Bone trilogy by Leigh Bardugo. I think they were really two sides of the same coin. Don't get me wrong, I'm glad-ish she got with Mal in the end, but I think in another world the Darkling and Alina would have been perfect for each other. They just have that chemistry. I think they're right person, wrong time 😟


An OTP you didn't ship but now you do.

Another hard one! I'm racking my brains but the only thing I can think of is Aspen and Lucy from the Selection series. I was a bit hesitant and meh to ship them before since I thought it was just a pairing of convenience BUT... now I see it. I think I had to read Eadlyn's spin-off books to realise that they're good for each other and super cute too. 💓


Your most hated OTP.

Probably Ron and Hermione. I just don't see it. They don't fit each other at all. Romione is just very meh and bland and I think they have a great platonic relationship but they both deserve a significant other that they connect with. Hermione and Ron kissing in the movies just made me uncomfy. 🥴To me, their relationship is like siblings.


An OTP that took way too long to get together.

I'm not sure about this one, since I actually really like slowburn in books. I don't really think any couple I love took too long. Maybe if I had to choose, Cress and Thorne?! But even them, it wasn't toooo long. I didn't mind since the payoff was so great.



Your favourite non-canon OTP.

I was waiting for this one!! 😍Dramione of course. Draco and Hermione are just SO perfect for each other. I found someone else's explanation online and this is what they say...

Dramione just makes so much sense and I love Ron but he just isn’t the one for Hermione. Dramione is star crossed, right person wrong time, enemies to lovers, soulmate material. They are opposite sides of the same coin. They challenge each other both morally and intellectually. They’re both ambitious and strong minded and they push each other to be the best versions of themselves, and the only thing strong enough to separate them is fate.

I wholeheartedly agree. Btw two of my favourite Dramione long-fics are Isolation by Bex-Chan and Remain Nameless by HeyJude19


Your favourite BROTP.

I looove the relationship between Rhys, Azriel and Cassian (or "the bat boys" as the fandom calls them) in the acotar series by Sarah J Maas. Their brotherly relationship and how they supported each other through their trauma is just so heartwarming, I love them. 😭


An OTP you adored in the books but not so much in the movie/film adaptations.

Ummmm I didn't adore Harry and Ginny and the books, but I mildly ship them. I'm fine with them I guess. But in the movies, they were ruined. And you can fight me on this. Ginny's personality was so downplayed until she was reduced to a placeholder love interest. It was so frustrating to watch! All of Ginny's amazingness washed away and the only scene she had was this painfull cringey part where she said "zip me up" and her and Harry had some extremely awkward moment that was supposed to be sexy or something. I hated it.


An OTP that no matter how hard you try to ship it, you just can't.

Hanne and Nina. Although to be honest, I didn't even try that hard. Nina and Matthias were GOLDEN and my heart was shattered into a million pieces when he died. But in my opinion, and yes people will hate me for this, Nina should have been grieving and then died heroically in some battle so she could be rejoined with him. I said what I said. 🙈


Your all time favourite OTP.

I have so many you can't make me choose!! 😖Since I'm reading ACOTAR right now, I'll have to go with ✨Feysand✨!! I know it's basic but they really are amazing. But if not them, then Casteel and Poppy from FBAA.



I hope you enjoyed the OTP tag! As always, leave any requests in the comments, they're much appreciated. Happy reading! 📖💗

90 views0 comments

Related Posts

Wrath

© 2023 by The Basic Bookworm.

000SignOff000.png
bottom of page